Bismarck PD Recognizes Local Heroes

By  | 

Members of the Bismarck Police Department were recognized this afternoon for doing more than solving crime.

The Chief of Police and his team awarded sworn, non-sworn personnel and a citizen for serving the community beyond what the badge requires.

Putting a child sexual predator behind bars and taking quick actions during a domestic assault involving a deadly weapon are just two examples of what some of the officers did in 2014.

Police Chief Dan Donlin says it's important to recognize heroic acts.

"It's very difficult just to recognize just that one. Pull that one out that the committee thought rose to the top and say that was your employee of the year, but I'd rather make a decision like that," said Donlin

This weekend, we'll hear from Officer Damien Girodat, the sworn-in employee of the year.

Below is a list of the awards given and the recipients.

Employee of the year Sworn: Officer Damien Girodat - Patrol Section
Employee of the Year Non-Sworn: Susan Ronning - Administrative Assistant to Administration
Meritorious Service Award: Officer Jon Lahr and Former Officer Paul Olson
Life Saving Award: Officer Kai Engstroem and Former Officer Nick Prigge
Letter of Recognition: Detective Scott Betz and Officer James Anderson
Safe Driving Certificate: Sergeant Lyle Sinclair, Sergeant Robyn Krile and Officer Scarlett Vetter
Civilian Letter of Recognition: Chris Horn