NDAPSSA High School Year End Awards

By  | 

The Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association wraps up awards week with the high school honors.

The boys athlete of the year is Legacy’s Austin Wolf. Wolf excelled at four sports on the Class-A level. He was First Team All-State wide receiver in football and Second-Team in soccer in the fall. He was the Saber’s second leading scorer in basketball in the winter, and in the spring, Austin won the state title in the high jump, and placed in the long jump and triple jump.

The girls coach of the year is Nicole Bentz of Grant County. She led the Coyotes to the Class-B state championship with a win over Killdeer, and had a pair of All-State athletes on her team, Taylor Roehl and Alexis Bentz.

The boys coaches of the year are also state basketball champions. Century’s Darin Mattern and Elliot Rotvold of Hillsboro-Central Valley. The Patriots beat West Fargo Sheyenne for the title.

Mattern said, "I'd like to thank my staff. I got a great coaching staff, a hard working staff. We've been together my entire time at Century, and obviously a lot of the credit has to go to the kids, and they were just a group that was fun to be around. It was a tremendous season. Obviously we had a great winning streak, and we had some luck along the way with some buzzer beaters, but to be a good basketball team you have to have some luck, and fortunately we were able to finish it off on the right note."

The Burros are the boys team of the year. Hillsboro-Central Valley won its second straight Class-B basketball championship, as it was from a last-second shot, once again.

The girls athlete of the year is Anna Holen of Litchville-LM. She is North Dakota’s Miss Basketball and the Class-B Senior Volleyball Player of the Year. Century’s Lauren Ware and Whitney Thomas from Legacy were also finalists.

The Patriots Ron Metz was a finalist in the category that Coach Bentz won, and the Team of the Year is Fargo Davies Track. The Eagles set a record for most points scored at a state meet. Century basketball was a finalist.