Dickinson State Blue Hawk Hall of Fame inductees

By  | 

BISMARCK, N.D. - Six individuals and one team will be inducted into the Dickinson State Blue Hawk hall of fame this fall.

Long-time football coach Hank Biesiot will be inducted as he coached at Dickinson State from 1972 to 2014. Biesiot won 17 conference championships and racked up 258 wins in his 39 years as a head coach. He was inducted into the NAIA hall of fame back in 2006.

Representing the 1970’s is Bud Etzold. Etzold played football for the Blue Hawks from 1974-1976 as he was an All-District selection on the offensive line while helping lead DSU to a conference championship in 1975. Following his playing career, he coached the offensive line at Dickinson State and was a part of six conference championships as a Blue Hawk coach

TJ Herauf, a Dickinson native, was a dual sport athlete from 1982-1985 as he was an All-Conference offensive lineman and kicker for the football team, and qualified for the NAIA national track meet in discus.

Jeff Stewart was another dual sport Blue Hawk as he played in the 1990’s. He was an All-Conference selection in football and was a two-time All-American in wrestling. The 1991 football team Stewart was a part of advanced to the semi-final round.

Aaron Johansen came to Dickinson State in 2001 as he was an All-Conference player in football playing safety, and was a multi-time All-American in track for the javelin, multi-events, and relays. Johansen was part of four conference championships for football, and three national championships for track.

Dana Dunsmore played at DSU from 2005-2007, as her final year she was named to the All-American first team after lead the Blue Hawk softball team to a national tournament appearance. She was the first softball player from DSU to be named a first team All-American.

The hall of fame team inductee is the 2006 and 2007 women’s softball teams. In 2006, the team finished with a 43-7 record in winning the DAC championship. In 2007, the team won the DAC championship again, as well as the Region 3 championship.

The 2007 team qualified for the national tournament where they made it to the Elite 8. Both teams were coached by Guy Fridley.

The induction ceremony will be part of the Blue Hawk homecoming activities on October 12, 2018.