ND Department of Health creates marijuana dispensary regions

By  | 

The Division of Medical Marijuana established eight regions in North Dakota where marijuana dispensaries will be located.

They are Fargo, Grand Forks, Jamestown, Devil's Lake, Bismarck/Mandan, Minot, Williston and Dickinson. Each of the hubs will serve a 50 mile radius.

Jason Wahl, the interim director of the Division of Medical marijuana, says eight dispensaries is the most they can set up under the law. A dispensary can be located anywhere within the 50-mile circle.

Wahl says the division will use a point system to score the applications in each region, with the highest score being selected. These applications won't open up until the administrative rules are approved and the two manufacturers are selected.

“The two entities that are selected to be registered then would be able to meet with the department and be able to firm up a better date on when dispensary applications would be open,” said Wahl.

The Attorney General's office said they’re currently reviewing the rules. An opinion will be issued by Jan. 31.