Olson, Evans to lead Minot City Council

Published: Jun. 23, 2020 at 7:28 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

For the first time in the city’s history, two women will lead the Minot City Council.

Aldermen elected Lisa Olson as Council President during Tuesday’s reorganization meeting.

Olson was nominated by current president Mark Jantzer. She was first elected to the council in 2010.

Olson, in turn, nominated council newcomer Carrie Evans as her Vice President.

The aldermen unanimously approved both selections.

Olson is the first female president of the Minot City Council since Sandra Collins-Roggenbuck, who served as council president from 1998-2000.

Voters elected Evans, Tom Ross, and incumbent Stephan Podrygula to the council during this month’s election.