North Dakota tribal leaders formally sworn in

BELCOURT, N.D. – Winners of North Dakota’s tribal elections last month have been formally sworn in.

Jamie Azure, who won re-election as the chairman of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, was sworn in during a special ceremony Sunday afternoon, along with the rest of the tribal council.

This is Azure’s first elected term as chairman. He was appointed chairman in February after the former chairman was removed from office.

Turtle Mountain council elections are held every two years.

Meanwhile, Mark Fox was sworn in Nov. 8 after winning re-election as chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes.

Fox, who has served as chairman since 2014, held off challenger and former chairman Tex Hall in that election.

Photo courtesy: Jamie Azure

Photo courtesy: Office of Chairman Mark Fox