New-look Minot City Council takes shape

Published: Jun. 28, 2016 at 9:38 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Minot's new-look city council came together for the first time June 28 after this month's elections.

The council held their official reorganization meeting.

Minot Mayor Chuck Barney welcomed four new alderman to the council: Shaun Sipma, Kenton Kossan, Shannon Straight and George Withus.

Stephan Podrygula, another new alderman, could not attend.

Barney also gave each outgoing alderman a plaque for their service to the city, including Jim Hatlelid, who mentored Barney when he served on the council.

“He was my mentor, and he really helped me a lot during my service, my public service, and I want to thank him for that. And he's also obviously been such a great advocate for the airport, so thank you for your years of service,” Barney told Hatlelid.

The council also re-elected Alderman Mark Jantzer as Council President, and chose Alderman Miranda Schuler as the new Council Vice President.

Subcommittee meetings begin June 29, and the new council will come together for their first meeting July 11.

All Minot Aldermen are currently serving one-year terms following the passing of the #MakeMinot measure.

Next summer there will be city-wide elections for the five at-large positions, and current council members will have to run for a spot.