NDAPSSA College Awards

MGN Online
By  | 

The category today from the Sportscasters & Sportswriters Association is college women and men. The women's Athlete of the Year is from Bismarck.

Lexi Zeis from the University of Mary is a National Cross Country champion. She won the closest race in Division-II history,

"It still runs through my mind at least once a day and just to look back now and see the progression I had throughout the whole season and every day getting better and having the team around, it was very special."

Cross Country may appear to be an individual activity but Zeis says it's special because of those who helped her prepare for the national title.

"I has a winning streak there and it was something I can't forget because it wasn't just me. It was my team and my coach that were around to really help with it and I can't be more grateful how well the season turned out," said Zeis.

Lexi ran for Bismarck High before the Marauders and what you may not know about Zeis is she was also a figure skater at B.H.S.

The female team of the year was a tied vote between Dickinson State softball and Jamestown basketball. The Blue Hawks made it back into the nation tournament.

The Jimmies Greg Ulland is the coach of the year.

The men's college team of the year was an interesting debate because North Dakota's two highest profile programs both won a national championship.

Only one vote separated UND Hockey and NDSU football but it went to the Fighting Hawks.

It was the first national title for North Dakota in 16-years. The championship victory was over Quinnipiac.

Brad Berry also became the first rookie head coach in college hockey history to win a national title.

The results for the coach of the year were just the opposite. Chris Klieman took that award after leading NDSU to it's fifth-straight F.C.S. championship. U-Mary's Joe Kattell was a finalist.

The Athlete of the Year is Bison lineman Joe Haeg. He was a four year started who was taken by the Colts in the draft.