Minot City Council race begins to take shape

MINOT, N.D. – The Minot City Council elections aren't until June, but the race is already starting to take shape.

Three of the current aldermen’s' seats are up for grabs—Council President Mark Jantzer, as well as Lisa Olson and Stephan Podrygula.

Jantzer and Olson both say they intend to run to keep their seat on the council. Podrygula says he has yet to decide whether he will run to keep the seat, but will consider it in the coming weeks.

Last summer, Jantzer, Olson and Podrygula were elected to one-year terms, while Shaun Sipma, Shannon Straight and Josh Wolsky were elected to three year terms. Their seats will not be up until 2020.

The council election is June 12.