Legislative Log: Eighteen legislators sworn into ND House, Senate

By  | 

BISMARCK, N.D. - Eighteen freshman legislators have been sworn in today as the legislature moves closer to session.

Among the new lawmakers is Ruth Buffalo, who became the first Native American democratic women elected in North Dakota.

Buffalo had friends and family attending her swearing in ceremony.

She says she's ready to go to work.

“Most importantly as a freshman legislator, I look forward to learning the processes and also looking to introduce at least one bill for sure at this point,” said Buffalo, D-Fargo.

Buffalo beat incumbent Randy Boehning in Fargo's district 27. Of the 18 new legislators, 12 are in the house and six are in the senate.

Rep. Larry Klemin, R-Bismarck, was also sworn in as Speaker of the House, replacing Rep. Larry Bellew, R-Minot.