Incumbents re-elected to Bismarck school board

By  | 

BISMARCK, N.D. - There were three incumbents running for three seats on the Bismarck School Board, and all were re-elected.

Ten people entered the race: Jon Lee, Matt Sagsveen and current board president, Karl Lembke, had the highest number of votes. Although the board will remain the same, Lembke says this is an advantage for the school district and community.

"We have had a lot of success on this board, and over the last couple of years we've made some good successful moves. But there's more work to be done," said Lembke.

Lembke says the board's top priority is to hire a new superintendent.

Lee was appointed in August to fill the unexpired term of Scott Halvorson. This was his first time campaigning.

"My campaign strategy was pretty simple. I've never done this before so I just wanted to be transparent, I wanted to be who I am. Just try to get a message across to the voters that I saw in the district and what I think the district needs," said Lee.

Lee says one of his priorities is smaller class sizes. He also says the board will soon discuss allowing military stoles at graduation.

While hiring a superintendent is top of the list, Sagsveen says he has another priority close behind.

"I really want to work hard on discipline issues and mental health issues for our kids, so our classrooms are safe and our teachers feel as though they're safe," said Sagsveen.

The three will be sworn in at their first board meeting in July.