Gov.-elect Burgum announces shakeups in state leadership

Published: Dec. 12, 2016 at 12:25 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

​Gov.-elect Doug Burgum announced changes to various leadership positions to state agencies Monday.

In the Department of Human Services, Executive Director Maggie Anderson will stay on as Medical Services director. Anderson will handle Medicaid and Medicaid expanision, as well as serve as the interim director until a new director is named.

Burgum says Chief Information Officer (CIO) Mike Ressler is leaving the state government to enter the private sector. Dan Sipes, director of operations and deputy chief information officer, will serve as interim CIO.

State Health Officer Terry Dwelle is retiring after 15 years in the position. Deputy State Health Officer Arvy Smith and Environmental Health Section Chief Dave Glatt will become co-interim directors​.

Burgum says Parks and Recreation Director Mark Zimmerman will leave after 10 years on the job. Field Manager Jesse Hanson will become the interim director.

Commerce Commissioner Alan Anderson will retire on December 31. Burgum says Anderson has offered to be available as needed through January during the search for his replacement.

Burgum has already announced Michelle Kommer, a Fargo banking executive and attorney, will head the Department of Labor.

The following 11 members of the cabinet will transition from the Dalrymple administration to Burgum's incoming administration:

Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation Director Leann Bertsch

Indian Affairs Commission Executive Director Scott Davis

Maj. Gen. Alan Dohrmann, adjutant general of the North Dakota National Guard

Department of Financial Institutions Commissioner Robert Entringer

Col. Michael Gerhart Jr., superintendent of the North Dakota Highway Patrol

Job Service North Dakota Executive Director Cheri Giesen

Workforce Safety and Insurance Director Bryan Klipfel

Department of Transportation Director Grant Levi

Office of Management and Budget Director Pam Sharp

Game and Fish Department Director Terry Steinwand

Securities Department Director Karen Tyler