Bismarck Aquastorm Wins 8th Consecutive State Title - KFYRTV.COM - Bismarck, ND - News, Weather, Sports

Bismarck Aquastorm Wins 8th Consecutive State Title

Posted: Updated:
  The Bismarck swim team hosted the State Long Course Championships this weekend seeking their 8th state title in a row, and the Aquastorm went home happy.

Sunday's action started and ended with team relays, and Bismarck swam away with most of the blue ribbons. In the 200 meter medley they grabbed 7 of 11 top times, and 3 of 4 wins in the 400 freestyle. In the girls 15-18 division, Amy Warren, Emma Hepper, Abby Bourgois and Dani Bergeson teamed up to win both events.

"Usually I'm either first or last so we decided to kind of mix it up and I went second so I was hoping that went okay," says Bergeson. "Every girl in our relay did awesome and I'm super proud of all of them, it was super exciting to watch and be a part of."  

In the individual freestyle, Bridger Sorenson, Jayden Porter and Loren Sether gave the home team 3 wins in the boys 400. Emma Hepper won not only the girls 15-16 freestyle but the backstroke as well. Head coach Jeff Steele is happy about the weekend but knows there isn't a lot of time to celebrate.

"We have a zone meet right now, we're gonna find out how many kids made the zone team, we're hoping we'll have 10 or 11 kids make team North Dakota, and then we'll get started with our short course season in September and hope we get a lot of new swimmers for that," Steele says.

Bismarck won both the total points and percentage championships. They will have 12 representatives on Team North Dakota for the Central Zone Championships in Oklahoma starting Wednesday. Minot will send 8 swimmers, while Williston has 2 representatives and Dickinson has 1. 
Powered by WorldNow
    Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KFYR. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.