Bison Football Honored by NDASSA - KFYRTV.COM - Bismarck, ND - News, Weather, Sports

Bison Football Honored by NDASSA

Posted: Updated:

North Dakota State repeated as national champions this year, and the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association named the Bison football team as the 2013 Male College Team of the Year.

NDSU capped a 14-1 season with a 26-point win  in the FCS National Championship game. The Bison allowed just 11.5 points per game.  

"The previous year, our big goal was to win it all, and we did. And the next thing was back to back, so we kind of worked towards that all year and that was our focus from the start of the summer to the end of our season. We accomplished that again, so it's a hard thing to do. And now, everyone is talking about the three-peat, but its nice to reflect back on what we did with the last two seasons and winning the back to back championship," says junior linebacker Esley Thorton.

All-American cornerback Marcus Williams was named Male College Athlete of the Year. Williams is NDSU's all-time leader in interceptions, and he still has his senior year to play.

Bison Head Coach Craig Bohl was named Male College Head Coach of the Year. Earlier this year, Bohl won the Eddie Robinson Award given to the FCS National Coach of the Year.  Bohl was 28-2 as head coach in the past two seasons.

Powered by WorldNow
    Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KFYR. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.