Jamestown teacher announced as finalist for N.D. Teacher of the Year

JAMESTOWN, N.D. - Jamestown teacher Heather Tomlin-Rohr has been chosen as a finalist for the 2018 North Dakota Teacher of the Year Award.

Jamestown native Tomlin-Rohr teaches kindergarten at Louis L’Amour Elementary School in Jamestown. She earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary education in the spring of 2002 from University of Jamestown.

State Superintendent Kirsten Baesler visited Louis L’Amour on Monday to inform Tomlin-Rohr that she had been selected as one of five finalists for the 2018 award.

Tomlin-Rohr was also a Teacher of the Year finalist in 2016, when the honor was won by Amy Neal, a kindergarten teacher at Lewis & Clark Elementary School in Minot.

Last year’s winner was Nancy Dauwen, a mathematics teacher at Sheyenne High School in West Fargo.