BISMARCK, N.D. - Although it's been crummy weather, anglers are already out in their boats fishing.
In North Dakota, it's the law to get your fishing license before you drop your line in the later. If you don’t, you could potentially get a fine.
A North Dakota Fishing License is good for one year-- from April 1 to March 31. For that amount of time, North Dakota Game and Fish Department chief of fisheries division Greg Power says it's the best value in the country.
"North Dakota has some of the cheapest fishing license in the union. It doesn't cost much," said Power.
One of the many different ways you can come and get a North Dakota fishing license is coming to the Game and Fish Department, giving them an identification, payment, and then you walk out with your own fishing license.
You can also get a license online or go to one of their licensing vendors.
A resident fishing license cost $17.
For out of state anglers, three-day licenses run $27, 10 days cost $37 and an entire year is $47.
While it may be inexpensive, authorities say paying the fee upfront will save you from paying hefty fines.
"In order to obey the law, you need to be properly licensed before you can participate in fishing activities," said Randy Meissner, Licensing Manager.
The money from the licenses goes back to provide some fishery programs such as stocking lakes, and providing boat ramps.
"North Dakotans like to fish, as well as other states coming to North Dakota. But, there's a lot of opportunity, we got more opportunity to fish on quality fishing in our state then we've ever had," said Power.
Power says that 27 percent of North Dakotans, 16 years of age and older, buy a fishing license every year.
There are more than 1,000 public access sights in the state.
Half of those sites can be found using Google Maps.